Metal work · Plaster Work · Plastics

Workshop- Main project

Through doing sampling for this project I had realised that I would like to include metal which is thicker than the wire that I had used previously, an following on with the idea of consumerism I decided to use some old fence post markers made from Steel Rod that I had previously salvaged from a rubbish tip.

I started by creating all of the plaster press-moulded and inlaying blocks on each piece of rod, this process is shown below:

1)

2)

3)

4)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5)

6)

7) and 8)

Finally, here are all of the resulting Casts:

Once the plaster casts were made with the metal inside them I then placed each one that I wanted to bend in a metal work vice and bent them by hand, as illustrated:

Once I had bent each one to the shape that I wanted them I began MIG Welding each one together, the process and close ups of this are shown below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can see, the MIG Welds aren’t particularly tidy, but for this project I was not worried about scruffyness and I was more concerned with having a strong joint that holds itself, considering I did not take the time to take the paint off of each rod used. Here is the resulting piece for my workshop module;

As you can see here the Plaster cast with two metal rods running through it has broken slightly under the strains of the new welded structure,  also when I was moving it the central circular piece snapped slightly as you will see below. This is because I did not lay the second piece of rod far enough into the Plaster cast and did not reinforce this particular piece, if I was to make another piece similar to this I would change that aspect next time.

Final photos:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

